Professor Benjamin Chow, MD

Professor Benjamin Chow, MD, is a Professor of Medicine (Cardiology and Nuclear Medicine) and Radiology at the University of Ottawa. Dr Chow is Clinical Cardiologist and Clinician Investigator at the University of Ottawa Heart Institute. He is the Director of Cardiac Imaging (Stress lab, ECHO, Nuclear Cardiology, Cardiac PET, Cardiac CT, Cardiac MR and X-ray) and the Co-Director of Cardiac Radiology. He also leads the Ottawa region strategic research Innovation Cluster on Non-invasive Cardiovascular Imaging.

Dr Chow obtained a BSc with Distinction in Life Sciences in 1992 and his MD in 1996 from Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario. He was certified as a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (FRCPC) in Internal Medicine in 2000, and Cardiology in 2002. He completed training in Nuclear Cardiology and Cardiac PET at the University of Ottawa Heart Institute.  Subsequently he was a Visiting Scientist at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston, where he gained experience in Cardiac CT. He joined the University of Ottawa Heart Institute as Staff Cardiologist in 2003.

Dr Chow has more than 250 peer-reviewed publications. He sits on the Editorial Board of the Journal of the American College of Cardiology and participates in the planning of international scientific meetings (American Society of Nuclear Cardiology, International Congress Non-Invasive Cardiac Imaging, International Congress of Cardiology). He has been recognized internationally for his contribution to science and clinical care. He is a Fellow of the American College of Cardiology, Fellow of the Society of Cardiovascular Computed Tomography and Fellow of the American Society of Nuclear Cardiology.

Dr Chow has received numerous awards for his contributions to clinical care, research, and education, including the University of Ottawa, Faculty of Medicine Award of Distinction and Service;  the University of Ottawa, Department of Medicine Mentorship Award; Continuing Medical Education (CME) Award; Clinical Science Investigator of the Year, Award for Research in Clinical Science, and the Young Professor Award.